Tags

, , , , , , , ,

This is a guest post.

A t-shirt in a solid color is great because you can wear it casually or dress it up.  But even this simple basic staple presents a challenge for the busty woman.  Do you get a loose shirt three sizes too big just so it will fit your breasts?  (I think the answer is yes: they make nice nighties.)  Do you get a stretchy t-shirt which still doesn’t come completely in to your waist, and which has wrinkles on the side?

I was happy to see both BiuBiu (Venice) and URKYE (Skubik) offering t-shirts in a range of bright solid colors.  BiuBiu also has a limited edition patterned shirt.

I tried two shirts of a similar color, the coral BiuBiu and the red URKYE to see how they compare.

front1
BiuBiu Venice front
front
URKYE Skubik front

Price

URKYE Skubik retails for 79 zloty ($25, €18.50, £16), while BiuBiu’s solid Venice shirts cost 59 zloty ($18.50, €14, £12).

Size

I tried the Skubik in 42 o/oo and the Venice in 40 B/BB.  At the time of purchase I measured 40.5 inches (103 cm) in the bust while wearing a bra, 31 inches (79 cm) at my natural waist, and 39 inches (99 cm) around my hips.  My size matches the sizing chart for both companies, but it is worth noting that I have found the stretch fabrics far more generous than the fitted clothing, where I need to wear a ooo/BBB.  Even if you are outside the range of either company, you may be able to fit their t-shirts.

I wore a Panache Sienna in 36G under the shirts.

Construction and Fabric

The URKYE offering is a much thicker fabric, and this is also reflected in the way the front is sewn.  The difference in fabric and construction probably explains the price difference.  I didn’t find the Skubik too heavy for summer, and the Venice, although significantly thinner, did not show my bra, so I could recommend either as a t-shirt.

alone
BiuBiu Venice front interior
alone1
URKYE Skubik front interior

Appearance

The differences between the shirts seemed minimal when I tried them on.  They both looked fairly similar on my body.  There is a little more difference in color than is evident from these photos, but not much: one is slightly more coral and the other is a bit closer to cherry.

The main differences in appearance were in the sleeve length, the neckline (scoop for BiuBu, square for URKYE) and the hips, where the Skubik was wider than I am.

back
BiuBiu Venice back
back1
URKYE Skubik back

Fit

The most obvious difference in fit is in the hip.  The URKYE Skubik flares at the hip while the BiuBiu Venice does not.  Because I am top-heavy, the Venice is a better fit for me in the hips, but I think a woman with larger hips would appreciate the extra curves of the Skubik.

The sleeves on the Skubik were a little tight for me.  It was a bit uncomfortable when I put it on, although not so much that it bothered me all day.  If, like me, you sometimes have problems with fitted sleeves, you may prefer the Venice.  I think the tightness of the sleeves caused some of the wrinkling that is visible near the armpit.

side
BiuBiu Venice side
side1
URKYE Skubik side

Summary

Both the BiuBiu Venice and the URKYE Skubik are good options if you’re looking for a fitted t-shirt for summer.  There are subtle differences in the shape of body each shirt is designed for which may make one choice the better option for you.  The Venice is a better fit for me because I lack pronounced hips and have thicker arms, but the balance could easily tip in favor of the Skubik if you have a slightly different figure than I do.